Wednesday, September 19, 2007

18th Annual Dale Velzy Results

18th Annual Dale Velzy Surf Classic and Luau Draws Crowds

Dana Point, Calif., September 17, 2007 - It was a great sunny day with good surf as the Doheny Longboard Surfing Association ran its 18th annual Dale Velzy Classic at Doheny State Beach on September 15, 2007. The event boasted surfers ranging in age from eight to over 70.
A great crowd of supporters framed the beach as each round of surfers began their respective heats. The event held over a nine hour period from 6:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. was filled with great surfing. Newly minted 70-year old Mickey Munoz won his first “70 and up” division riding a sponge board! This was just two weeks after his now legendary birthday party was held at the very same beach. With typical Munoz aplomb, he surfed better than ever.
Some of the most incredible surfing of the day however, was the junior men and women age groups. They really ripped the two to three foot surf with flawless precision. Some of the crowds were so appreciative of their advanced surfing that during the hotly contested semis and finals they were standing on the beach applauding their exceptional skills.
The Velzy family were in attendance during the luau and very appreciative of the event held in Dale’s honor. Polynesian dancers and a live band capped the fun-filled day of classic longboarding, tandem surfing and paddle board racing. Proceeds from the event are used to support the Doheny Longboard Surfing Association’s many charities.
The Doheny Longboard Surfing Association is an organization comprised of individuals dedicated to the enjoyment of board surfing in a clean and natural environment. In relation to that philosophy, the DLSA will act as a support group to other organizations with similar views and objectives. PR contact: Denny Michael

18th Annual Dale Velzy Classic & Luau
Dale Velzy Classic Results 2007

Menehune Girls Junior Women
1st - Kirra Kehoe HBLC 1st - Marissa Barry DLSA
2nd - Becca Dunn DLSA 2nd - Lauren Nagn DLSA
3rd - Jesica Gale DLSA 3rd - Rachel Barry LBSC
4th - Page Edwards DLSA 4th - Danica Elberts DLSA
5th - Rachael Calkins DLSA
6th - Marisa Graham OLSC

Women Tandem
1st - Katie Calkins DLSA 1st - Mark & Debbie Gale DLSA
2nd - Cheryl McGregor DLSA 2nd - Clay & Kristen Huntington DLSA
3rd - Tracy Edwards DLSA 3rd - Mark Calkins & Sean Edwards DLSA
4th - Rachael Dunn DLSA 4th - Jans Baltgalvis& Cathy LBSC
5th - Rita Bandrick DLSA 5th - Kelly French & Emily Rule DLSA
6th - Jeanette Francis LBSC

Menehune Boys Junior Men
1st - Mason Klink DLSA 1st - Cole Robbins MSA
2nd - Dakota Faircloth LBSC 2nd - Alex Calkins DLSA
3rd - Eli Gillis DLSA 3rd - Max Dexter DLSA
4th - Brock Thomson 4th - Jarred Mell BC
5th - Bennett Jones 5th - Colin Emery DLSA
6th - Shon Thompson LBSC 6th - Bret Robbins MSA

Mens Senior Men
1st - Tyler Warren DLSA 1st - Mark Stewart LBSC
2nd - Buck Barry DLSA 2nd - Ryan Mota LBSC
3rd - Mike Siordia LBSC 3rd - Scott Sap DLSA
4th - Dustin Martnick TI 4th - Troy Sugg
5th - Clint Clemmens DLSA 5th - Erwin Cabala
6th - Shane Jones 6th - Shon Esparza LBSC

Master Grand Master
1st - Rubio Smith DLSA 1st - Mark Calkins DLSA
2nd - Pat Hines 2nd - Steve Stirrett DLSA
3rd - John Coshland DLSA 3rd - Bobby Knox DLSA
4th - Sam Gold LBSC 4th - Chuck McElvain DLSA
5th - Steve Tote LBSC 5th - Denny Michael DLSA
6th - Kio Son MSA 6th - Matt Albers NBSC

Legends Extreme Legends
1st - Sal Avila DLSA 1st - Mickey Munoz DLSA
2nd - Mike Dawson LBSC 2nd - George Carr MSA
3rd - Mike Swenson DLSA 3rd - Gary Stellar MSA
4th - Dick Whitehead DLSA 4th - Frayne Higgason MSA
5th - Bill Spurgeon NBSA 5th - Bill Bragg NBSA
6th - Bill Gray DLSA 6th - Russ Elwell

Paddle Race Junior Men Time
1st - Cole Robins & Alex Calkins 4:34 Tied for 1st overall
3rd - Shane Jones 4:43 2nd overall

- more -
Paddle Race Men Time
1st - Rubio Smith 4:56 4th overall
2nd - Jans Baltgalvis 4:57 5th overall
3rd - Mark Stewart 5:03 6th overall

Paddle Race Master Time
1st - Mark Calkins 4:48 3rd overall
2nd - Lance Erickson 5:04 7th overall
3rd - Ed (Dip) McMillen 5:29 8th overall

Paddle Race Women Time
1st - Kira Kehoe 5:53 9th overall
2nd - Jasmyn Morrow 6:49 10th overall

Club Finish
1st - Doheny Longboard Surfing Association
2nd - Long Beach Surfing Club
3rd - Malibu Surfing Association
4th - Newport Beach Surfing Association
5th - Huntington Beach Longboard Crew
6th - Blackies Classic
7th - Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club